SNFU, Four the Moment Win Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize

Albums by a legendary punk band and a gospel folk group are awarded the prestigious designation. The prize salutes Canadian records released prior to the 2006 creation of The Polaris Music Prize.

SNFU, Four the Moment Win Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize

By FYI Staff

The Polaris Music Prize has announced albums from SNFU and Four the Moment have received the 2022 Slaight Family Polaris Heritage Prize designation.

This Polaris hall of fame-minded critics prize/public polling campaign is meant to celebrate classic Canadian albums created before Polaris began in 2006. Like the Polaris Music Prize, winners and nominees of the Heritage Prize are albums of the highest artistic distinction, without regard to sales or affiliations. Each year one album is designated by a public vote and one by the Polaris Heritage Prize jury.

Vancouver-via-Edmonton punk band SNFU’s album ...And No One Else Wanted to Play from 1985 was chosen in the Heritage Prize public voting category. Halifax, Nova Scotia-based a cappela gospel-folk group Four the Moment’s album We’re Still Standing from 1987 received Heritage designation by the 11-member Polaris Heritage Prize jury.


“Congratulations to SNFU and Four the Moment. The valuable, unique albums you created show the tremendous depth and quality of Canadian music. Thank you for making these important works of art,” said Gary Slaight, President and CEO of Slaight Communications, in a press release.

Four the Moment’s recognition comes four decades after they began creating music together. “We are so deeply honoured, humbled and thrilled to be receiving the Polaris Heritage Prize,” said Four the Moment’s Delvina Bernard, in a statement. “When Four the Moment started its journey 40 years ago, we could not have imagined that songs written as feminist and Afrocentric testimonials of gender and racial social justice issues in Nova Scotia performed a capella would still hold sway today.

"Ironically, the injustices chronicled on the We’re Still Standing recording are unfortunately still with us. Despite this, we are pleased and proud to celebrate along with those who’ve supported our music mission over the decades as collaborators, inspirators and patrons. We are grateful to the Polaris Heritage Prize organization and jurors and to all who voted for us. We are equally indebted to all nominees whose exceptional musical works make these awards possible… it just feels so uplifting to know we’re still standing, and that a new and younger generation might just take note.”


SNFU dedicated their win to two of its late members. “We are honoured by Polaris's recognition of our first album …And No One Else Wanted to Play,” said SNFU’s Marc Belke and Brent Belke. “It’s humbling for SNFU to be mentioned in the same breath as the other nominees. It’s also gratifying that after almost 40 years the album’s impact is still being felt. We are thankful to our fans and friends who voted for this award. And we are thankful to Mark Stern, Shawn Stern and Gubby Svoboda, who, all those years ago, believed in us and pressed us to drive to Los Angeles to make the album. This award is dedicated to the lives of two people without whom this album would not exist: Mr. Chi Pig and Evan C. Jones. Love, respect, & 1, 2, SNFU.”

There were 12 nominated albums up for Heritage Prize consideration this year:


Lillian Allen - Revolutionary Tea Party

Bran Van 3000 - Glee

Leonard Cohen - Various Positions

Four the Moment - We’re Still Standing

k.d. lang - Ingénue

Kardinal Offishall - Quest for Fire: Firestarter, Vol 1

Martha and the Muffins - This is the Ice Age

Wayne McGhie & The Sounds of Joy - Wayne McGhie & The Sounds of Joy

Rascalz - Cash Crop

SNFU - ...And No One Else Wanted to Play

Stars - Set Yourself on Fire

The Weakerthans - Left and Leaving

Heritage Prize winners are commemorated with limited-edition artwork commissioned and inspired by the music on these designated albums. Examples of past winners’ works, including those honouring the likes of last year’s winners Nomeansno and Faith Nolan, can be found here.


Thirty-seven albums have received Heritage Prize designation since its introduction in 2015. Past winning albums include Peaches’ The Teaches of Peaches, Harmonium’s L’Heptade, Glenn Gould’s Bach: The Goldberg Variations, Dream Warriors’ And Now the Legacy Begins and Buffy Sainte-Marie’s It’s My Way!

More information here

The cast of "Stereophonic"
Julieta Cervantes

The cast of "Stereophonic"


Will Butler on Writing the Tony-Nominated Music for ‘Stereophonic’: ‘It Was Like a Thousand-Piece Puzzle With 200 Pieces Missing’

The former Arcade Fire member has two nominations for his stunning songs, written for a fictional (but very believable) rock band onstage.

Will Butler’s first meeting with playwright David Adjmi was fairly open-ended: a friend had told Butler that Adjmi — a fan of Arcade Fire, the band Butler was in at the time — was working on a play about a band and that Butler could “write the music or just consult or whatever.”

But from their first sit-down at a diner near New York’s theatre district, Adjmi’s vision was “instantly recognizable” to Butler: “Like, oh, it’s a demo — it’s like a transcendental thing that they can never recapture. You have things falling apart because the headphones sound bad, you have people yelling at each other over music but it’s because of how their dad treated them,” he recalls with a laugh.

keep readingShow less