Sweet Alibi: Really Great

The rootsy award-winning trio’s new single features trademark harmonies and somewhat quirky instrumentation.

Sweet Alibi: Really Great

By Kerry Doole

Sweet Alibi - Really Great (Comino Music): This rootsy Winnipeg-based trio comprises singer/songwriters Amber Nielsen, Jessica Rae Ayre, and Michelle Anderson. Three earlier albums have earned kudos, and a fourth is being worked on with producers Matt Peters and Matt Schellenberg of Royal Canoe (Begonia).

Released last week, Really Great is a new single that whets the appetite for the album. The group's signature sweet vocal harmonies are in evidence, but the somewhat quirky and non-folkie instrumentation suggests they have been experimenting with their sound.

In a press release, Amber Rae discusses the story behind the track: “This song is inspired by the people in our world today that are creating change. Honest and hardworking people who are sacrificing their comfort for the greater good. Sometimes the way we have been doing things needs to change. We make mistakes and we learn from them. Following the beat of your own drum can be so difficult at times but in the end, we rest knowing we did our best and stayed honest and true. Doing what you believe is right and not just what everyone else is doing.


"Yesterday the world was a different place and as it changes we need to change as well to meet the needs of those around us and also to take care of our natural world that supports our lives."

Over a career now spanning a decade, Sweet Alibi has won a West Coast Music Award, charted on CBC Radio 2, and developed an audience across North America and in Europe.






Publicity: Mavis Harris, Nice Marmot PR

Lindsay Duncan

Aysanabee, a guest judge for Your Voice Is Power program

Latest News

Music News Digest: Your Voice Is Power Teaches STEM With Indigenous Music

Other Canadian music news this week includes PEI Music Week, the Toronto Symphony Orchestra's new season, The Wavelength Winter Festival a Paper Bag Records "preboarding" showcase & more.

Awards news

Music PEI’s flagship event, Music Week 2024, culminates in the Music PEI Awards Gala, at the Confederation Centre of the Arts, on March 10. The Awards Gala will include a red carpet, sponsored by the East Coast Music Association, starting at 6 p.m. The Awards, alongside performances by top nominees Tara MacLean, Inn Echo, Jenn Grant, Sirène et Matelot and Noah Malcolm. A 9- piece house band will be led by PEI impresario, Craig Fair. Tickets here.

keep readingShow less