Polaris Music Prize Short List Announced

The list of ten nominees is heavily weighted towards comparative newcomers and unknowns, with such veterans as Gord Downie, Arcade Fire, and Sloan missing the cut for the prestigious Prize.

Polaris Music Prize Short List Announced

By FYI Staff

The 2018 Polaris Music Prize shortlist was announced this morning (July 17).

The ten nominees, in alphabetical order, are:

Alvvays - Antisocialites

Jean-Michel Blais - Dans ma main

Daniel Caesar - Freudian

Jeremy Dutcher - Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa

Pierre Kwenders - MAKANDA at the End of Space, the Beginning of Time

Hubert Lenoir - Darlène

Partner - In Search Of Lost Time

Snotty Nose Rez Kids - The Average Savage

U.S. Girls - In A Poem Unlimited

Weaves - Wide Open

An early analysis of the list shows it is strongly weighted towards new artists. Chances are there are at least two or three names on there you will not recognize, and only two contenders, Alvvays and Daniel Caesar, have enjoyed significant commercial success. Veterans who made the Long List but not this one include Arcade Fire, Gord Downie, and Sloan.


Indigenous artists are represented by Jeremy Dutcher and Snotty Nose Rez Kids, while francophone/Quebec-based artists (Jean-Michel Blais, Pierre Kwenders, and Hubert Lenoir) have a strong presence.

A wide range of genres is represented, from rock and post-punk to neo-classical, hip-hop, world music, and R&B.

Only three of the Short Listed artists (Alvvays, Weaves, and U.S. Girls) have made the list previously, and a first-time winner of the Prize is guaranteed.

The Polaris Music Prize honours the best album by a Canadian artist in the past 12 months, based "solely on artistic merit, without consideration for genre or record sales."

A jury of 191 members from across Canada whittled down 225 albums to a Long List of 40 and now this Short List. The Polaris winner takes home $50K. All runners-up will receive $3K, courtesy of Slaight Music.

The winner of the 2018 Polaris Music Prize will be chosen by a grand jury at the prize's gala event, held at the Carlu in Toronto on Sept. 17.


Jade Eagleson
Ryan Nolan

Jade Eagleson


Canadian Country Music Association Awards 2024 Nominations: Jade Eagleson, Mackenzie Porter Lead The Pack

The two platinum-selling singer/songwriters have scored six nominations each for the CCMA Awards, with The Reklaws and Josh Ross hot on their heels. The biggest night in Canadian country takes place on Sept. 14 at Rogers Place in Edmonton.

Today (July 18), the Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA) announced the official nominees for the 2024 CCMA Awards. Topping the list of contenders with six nods apiece are Jade Eagleson and MacKenzie Porter, the latter of whom will co-host the awards show alongside American country star Thomas Rhett.

Hot on their heels with five nominations apiece are The Reklaws and Josh Ross, while High Valley, Owen Riegling and Dallas Smith are each cited in four categories. Other notable Canadian artists making the list include Dean Brody, Steven Lee Olsen, James Barker Band, Brett Kissel, Tenille Townes and Lindsay Ell.

keep readingShow less