The Prism Prize Announces the Top 20 Best Canadian Music Videos

Nominees for the prestigious $15K prize range from such major stars as Drake, Arkells and Jessie Reyez to comparative unknowns Belle Game and So Loki. The award will be handed out in Toronto on May 13.

The Prism Prize Announces the Top 20 Best Canadian Music Videos

By FYI Staff

The Prism Prize today announced the Top 20 best Canadian music videos of the year, as voted by a jury of more than 120 Canadian music, film and media arts professionals. After viewing hundreds of music videos, jurors selected the Prism Prize Top 20 based on originality, style, creativity, innovation and effective execution.

One of these videos will be awarded the $15,000 Grand Prize at a screening and awards presentation on Monday, May 13, at TIFF Bell Lightbox in Toronto. The Prism Prize Top Ten will be announced on April 2.

THE 2019 PRISM PRIZE TOP 20 (in alphabetical order):


Arkells - People's Champ (Director: Matt Barnes)

Bahamas - No Depression (Director: Ali J. Eisner)

Belle Game - Low (Director: Kevan Funk)

Blue Hawaii - Do You Need Me (Director: Kevan Funk)

Cadence Weapon - High Rise (Director: Lester Millado)

Chad VanGaalen - Host Body (Director: Chad VanGaalen)

Charlotte Cardin - The Kids (Director: Kristof Brandl)

Clairmont The Second - Gheeze (Director: Clairmont The Second)

Classified - Powerless (Director: Andrew Hines)

Daniel Caesar ft. H.E.R. - Best Part, a Visual (Directors: Keavan Yazdani & Sean Brown)

Deadmau5 - Monophobia (Directors: Nick DenBoer & Kenny Hotz)

Drake - Nice For What (Director: Karena Evans)

Harrison ft. Ralph - Your Girl (Directors: Ft. Langley)

Jean-Michel Blais - Dans ma main (Directors: Mauriès Matos)

Jessie Reyez - Body Count (Director: Peter Huang)

Rich Aucoin - The Middle (Director: Meags Fitzgerald)

Said The Whale - UnAmerican (Director: Johnny Jansen)

So Loki - Athletes World (Director: Lucas Hrubizna)

SonReal - Have A Nice Day (Director: Peter Huang)

The Weather Station - Impossible (Director: Colin Medley)

“Each year I am blown away by the quality of work on the Prism Prize lists, and this year is no exception. These artists are some of the most exciting working in media right now, at home, and around the world. They are the next wave of Canadian talent,” said Prism Prize Founder Louis Calabro.


Organizers also announced Slaight Music as Patron Sponsor for the 2019 awards, continuing a partnership that began when the Prize launched in 2012.  Part of the 2019 partnership provides runner-up artists on the Top Ten list with a cash prize of $500 per project, courtesy of Slaight Music. “We are grateful to Slaight Music for their early, ongoing and generous support, which is creating tangible opportunities for Canadian musicians,” said Calabro.

Along with the $15,000 to the best Canadian music video of the year, Prism Prize will continue to present several special awards, with announcements to come leading up to the May 13 event.

The Audience Award voting is open to members of the public and begins today, running until April 19, 2019. All 20 Prism Prize shortlisted videos are eligible. Votes can now be registered on the voting site here

Last year, Toronto based Karena Evans, who worked on multiple Drake billboard hits, including the viral video God’s Plan, and Sza’s Garden (Say It Like That) that starred Donald Glover, was announced as the recipient of the Lipsett Award for innovative and unique approaches to music video art.


The Special Achievement Award (sponsored by Slaight Music) - for artistic achievements and exceptional worldwide contribution to music video art - will also be announced in the coming weeks.

Finally, the Hi-Fidelity Award (sponsored by FACTOR) - an award given to a recording artist who has used video art to represent their work in a consistently creative and innovative way - will also be revealed leading up to the May 13 event.

Prism Prize is proud to host a comprehensive resource for music fans to watch the best Canadian music videos all in one place. Videos and news from Canada’s music video community are available throughout the year at



Now entering its seventh year, the Prism Prize has earned top honours being the largest cash prize in the world for music videos. Established in 2012, it is an annual award recognizing outstanding artistry in Canadian music videos and is now produced by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television (The Canadian Academy). Becoming a division of The Academy-allows Prism Prize to promote and support homegrown Canadian creative projects, and bolster the Canadian music landscape. In addition to this acquisition, and through collaboration with RBC Foundation’s RBCxMusic, Prism Prize launched their inaugural Music Video Production Project (MVP Project) grant to director/ producer/ artists represented heavily across the country.

Previous winners of Prism Prize’s Grand Prize have included Fantavious Fritz for Charlotte Day Wilson’s Work (2018), Martin C. Pariseau for Kaytranada’s Lite Spots (2017), Philip Sportel for Kalle Mattson’s Avalanche (2016), Chad VanGaalen for Timber Timbre’s Beat The Drum Slowly (2015), Emily Kai Bock for Arcade Fire’s Afterlife (2014), and Noah Pink for Rich Aucoin’s Brian Wilson is A.L.i.V.E (2013).

Buju Banton

Buju Banton


Legendary Jamaican Artist Buju Banton Coming To Toronto On North American Arena Tour

The show will come as part of the reggae artist's first U.S. tour in 13 years. Don Toliver and Snotty Nose Rez Kids have also revealed upcoming Canadian dates.

A legendary Jamaican artist is making a major return to Canada.

Grammy-winning reggae and dancehall musician Buju Banton will perform at the Scotiabank Arena in Toronto on October 13, for his first Canadian show in over fifteen years.

keep readingShow less