MMF Honour Roll Recipients Named

Music Managers Forum Canada (MMF) has announced the recipients of the 2019 Honour Roll Awards.

MMF Honour Roll Recipients Named

By FYI Staff

Music Managers Forum Canada (MMF) has announced the recipients of the 2019 Honour Roll Awards. The Honour Roll Awards, which honors achievement in Canada’s music management industry, will be presented during a ceremony on May 7 as part of Canadian Music Week.

This year’s Honor Roll Award will go to Sandy Pandya, a music management veteran with more than 20 years experience in the industry.

In announcing Pandya as the recipient for 2019, the MMF said: “Pandya paved her own lane in the Canadian music industry, cementing herself as a leader and advancing the careers of the artists she represents. Her passion for music and inability to accept the word “no” supported her affinity for championing underdogs, which afforded her a career spanning over 20 years and counting.”

Previous recipients of the Honour Roll Award include Susan de Cartier (2018), Chris Smith (2017), Lorne Saifer (2016), Rob Lanni & Eric Lawrence (2015), Gilles Paquin (2014), Jake Gold (2013), Larry Wanagas (2012), Terry McBride (2011), Sam Feldman (2010), Ray Danniels (2009), Bruce Allen (2008), and Bernie Finkelstein (2007).

Longtime music manager Ron Sakamoto, founder of Gold & Gold Productions Ltd., and the Sakamoto Agency is named as the 2019 recipient of The Brian Chater Pioneer Award, which honours individuals who have been instrumental in creating the framework for music management in the Canadian entertainment industry.

Previous recipients of the Brian Chater Pioneer Award include Riley O’Connor (2018), Duff Roman (2017) Michael Cohl (2016), Pegi Cecconi (2015), Brian Chater (2014), Neill Dixon & Steve Propas (2013), Donald Tarlton & Terry Flood (2012), Mary Martin (2011) and Leonard Rambeau (2010).

As well, the MMF announced that the 2019 Banner Year Award will go to Arkells and their team, including Entertainment One’s Chris Taylor, Ashley Poitevin, and Sarah Osgoode.

Previous recipients of the Banner Year Award include Daniel Caesar, Matthew Burnett, Jordan Evans (2017), Joanne Setterington & The Strumbellas (2017), Tony Sal & The Weeknd (2016).

Now in its 13th year, the MMF Honor Roll awards are held at the held at Bymark Restaurant in Toronto. Tickets can be purchased here.


DIVINE (L) and Karan Aujla
@anmollium / Anmol Raina

DIVINE (L) and Karan Aujla

Chart Beat

Karan Aujla & DIVINE Debut in Top 25 on Billboard Canadian Albums Chart

B.C.-based Punjabi artist Karan Aujla and Indian rapper DIVINE land the No. 22 spot on this week's Canadian Albums chart with their new collaborative release, 'Street Dreams.' On the Canadian Hot 100, Beyoncé's "Texas Hold 'Em" ascends to No. 1, while Canadian pop artist Preston Pablo makes a debut.

B.C.-based Punjabi artist Karan Aujla and Indian rapper DIVINE are making moves together on Billboard's Canadian Albums chart this week, with their collaborative project, Street Dreams, debuting in the No. 22 spot.

The seven-track album, released Feb. 16, blends harder hip-hop and smooth R&B pop, the latter shining through especially on the Jonita Gandhi-assisted "Yaad." It's not Aujla's highest spot on the Albums chart — he reached No. 5 in 2023 with Making Memories, his collaboration with Canadian Punjabi artist Ikky — but it gives him some momentum going into his upcoming performance at the Juno Awards on Mar. 24, where he's nominated for TikTok Juno fan choice and breakthrough artist.

keep readingShow less