Colin James The Big Winner At Maple Blues Awards

The blues-rock veteran was the only multiple victor on a night marked by stellar performances demonstrating that the blues are alive and well in the Great White North.

Colin James The Big Winner At Maple Blues Awards

By FYI Staff

Colin James was the big winner at the 21st annual Maple Blues Awards in Toronto on Monday night. The Vancouver-based blues-rocker was the only multiple award winner at Koerner Hall, earning trophies in the categories of Electric Act, Recording/Producer, and Guitarist of the Year.

New faces honoured with awards including multiple nominee Hamilton’s Harrison Kennedy for Songwriter of the Year, Ottawa’s Laura Greenberg for Bassist of the Year and Victoria’s Jason Buie for New Artist of the Year.

The Blues With A Feeling Award for lifetime achievement was awarded to Toronto-based Diana Braithwaite for her longtime career and commitment to blues music in Canada, while musicologist, professor, and writer Rob Bowman was presented with the Blues Booster of the Year award honouring his outstanding contribution to the Canadian blues scene.


The fourth annual Cobalt Prize Contemporary Blues Composition Award was also announced at the gala.  Joe Nolan was the winner of the $1K cash prize for his song "All You’ve Got To Do, " with runners-up Conor Gains for his song "Walking Alone," and Miss Emily for her composition "Hold Back The River" that came with a cash prize of $250 apiece.

The Awards were hosted by ShoShona Kish of Digging Roots. That group performed, alongside Donald Ray Johnson, Cécile Doo-Kingué, Diana Braithwaite, Matt Andersen (with surprise guest Steve Hill), and Colin James, who closed the show with guest Steve Marriner of MonkeyJunk. All were backed by The Maple Blues Band. 


Here is the full list of winners of the 21st Annual Maple Blues Awards

Entertainer of the Year - Paul DesLauriers Band

Electric Act of the Year - Colin James

Acoustic Act of the Year - Big Dave McLean

Male Vocalist of the Year - Matt Andersen

Female Vocalist of the Year - Angel Forrest

New Artist of the Year - Jason Buie


Recording/Producer of the Year - Colin James – Blue Highways (True North); Producers: Colin James & Dave Meszaros

B.B. King International Artist of the Year - Joe Bonamassa

Songwriter of the Year - Harrison Kennedy

Blues with a Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement Award) - Diana Braithwaite

Guitarist of the Year - Colin James

Harmonica Player of the Year - Guy Bélanger

Piano/Keyboard of the Year - David Vest

Horn Player of the Year - Jon Wong

Drummer of the Year - Matt Sobb (MonkeyJunk)

Bassist of the Year - Laura Greenberg (JW-Jones)

Blues Booster of the Year - Rob Bowman

'La nuit s’achève' album cover


Latest News

Music News Digest: Canadian Artists Valence Jon Mullane & Jay Douglas Earn Awards

This week’s roundup of news includes items on Rob Pattee, Voivod, FMO, AMERICANAFEST 2024, Busy Buddies, Andrea Ramolo, Vishtèn Connexions, Boreal and Terry Gomes.

Awards news

The Grand Théâtre de Québec and its partners, the City of Québec, Solotech and De la Létourneau, are awarding the inaugural Bourse Karim-Ouellet to singer/songwriter Valence (Vincent Dufour). The prize was created last Sept., in memory of the late Quebec City-based singer-songwriter Karim Ouellet. It awards a $7,500 cash prize, plus consulting and publicity services from communications firm, and the opportunity for a paid performance at the Grand Théâtre de Québec in 2024. Applications for next year’s Bourse Karim-Ouellet open on Aug. 30, with a Dec. 1 deadline.

keep readingShow less