Colin James, Female Artists Win Big At Maple Blues Awards

The veteran from Vancouver (pictured) took home five trophies from the biggest night in Canadian blues. Also making regular trips to the podium were female musicians, with Ellen McIlwaine receiving the coveted Blues With A Feeling Award.

Colin James, Female Artists Win Big At Maple Blues Awards

By FYI Staff

Veteran Vancouver blues-rocker Colin James was the big winner at the Maple Blues Awards at Koerner Hall in Toronto on Monday night. He took home five awards for Entertainer of the Year, Electric Act of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year, Recording/Producer of the Year and Songwriter of the Year.

Female blues musicians were well represented in several other categories, with awards going to Sue Foley for Guitarist of the Year, Lindsay Beaver for Drummer of the Year, Laura Greenberg for Bassist of the Year, Shirley Jackson for Horn Player of the Year, Emily Burgess for New Artist of the Year, and Angel Forrest for Female Vocalist of the Year.


Calgary based Ellen McIlwaine, aka Goddess of the Slide, was honoured for her long career and outstanding contribution to the Canadian blues scene with the Blues with a Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement Award).

The Blues Booster of the Year Award, another special Maple Blues Award, was handed out to the Hornby Island Blues Society for its continued contribution the Canadian blues scene.

In addition to the 17 Maple Blues Awards handed out throughout the gala event, the winners of the 5th annual Cobalt Prize Contemporary Blues Composition Award were announced. The  Award was created and initially funded by Juno Award winner Paul Reddick, whose goal was to change the way audiences perceive and appreciate blues music. The intention behind the Cobalt Prize is to promote blues music through the exploration of its form.  In 2020 the Maple Blues Awards will introduce the Sapphire Award for Best Blues Video.

The winning Cobalt Prize for composition was “It’s Happening” by Edmonton based Ann Vriend. The runners up were “Down on Vaughn Rd” by Toronto’s Son Roberts and “Chasing Dreams” by Toronto’s Samantha Martin.  A cash prize of $1000 was presented to Vriend, with the second and third place winners each receiving $250.


Hosted by popular theatre/television actor and blues artist Raoul Bhaneja, the show's near-capacity audience was treated to performances by Edmonton expat Jenie Thai, Newfoundland’s Earle & Coffin, Ottawa’s Sue Foley (now based in Austin), and Toronto-based guitarist and singer Emily Burgess. Salt Spring Island's Harry Manx teamed up with Monkey Junk's Steve Marriner to preview their new release and Raoul closed the show with the Big Time joined by surprise guest and big winner Colin James for the finale.

Now in its 22nd year, the Maple Blues Award gala is recognized as the most important date on the Canadian blues scene's calendar.

Maple Blues Award Winners

Entertainer of the Year

Colin James

Electric Act of the Year

Colin James

Acoustic Act of the Year

Big Dave McLean

Male Vocalist of the Year

Colin James

Female Vocalist of the Year

Angel Forrest

New Artist of the Year

Emily Burgess

Recording/Producer of the Year

Colin James - Miles to Go / True North (Colin James & Dave Meszaros)

International Artist of the Year

Buddy Guy

Songwriter of the Year

Colin James

Blues with a Feeling Award (Lifetime Achievement Award)


Ellen McIlwaine

Guitarist of the Year
Sue Foley

Piano/Keyboard Player of the Year

David Vest

Harmonica Player of the Year

Steve Marriner

Horn Player of the Year

Shirley Jackson

Drummer of the Year

Lindsay Beaver

Bassist of the Year

Laura Greenberg (JW-Jones)

Blues Booster of the Year

The Hornby Island Blues Society

Five Finger Death Punch
Travis Shinn

Five Finger Death Punch

Chart Beat

Five Finger Death Punch’s ‘This Is the Way’ Scores DMX His First Mainstream Rock Airplay No. 1

The band extends its record for the longest streak of No. 1s in the chart's history, while the rapper earns a posthumous ruler.

Five Finger Death Punch extends its record streak of No. 1s on Billboard’s Mainstream Rock Airplay chart, while featured artist DMX achieves a posthumous leader, as “This Is the Way” tops the June 15-dated survey.

The song is Five Finger Death Punch’s 11th straight Mainstream Rock Airplay No. 1, lengthening the longest streak of leaders in the chart’s 43-year history. The Ivan Moody-fronted band’s run began in 2018 with “Sham Pain.”

keep readingShow less