Radiodays North America Wants To Hear From Canada’s Brightest New On-Air Talents

The steeplechase is back on and the April 22, 2024 deadline for nomination submissions for Canadian Music Week's Allan Waters Young Broadcaster of the Year award is fast approaching.

Canadian Music Week organizers are giving one last shout-out for submission entries for the Allan Waters Young Broadcaster of the Year Award, in memory of legendary radio programmer Steve Young.

In earlier years, there was stiff competition in this award category but perhaps the shine that a career in radio broadcasting once had has lost its sheen with consolidation in the industry and the brutal cutbacks that followed declines in listenership and the exodus of advertisers to cheaper and perhaps more effective online platforms.

This said, the steeplechase is back on.

In a press release this week, organizers stated: “We would like to send out a friendly reminder to the broadcasting industry that the deadline to submit a nomination for the 2024 Allan Waters Young Broadcaster of the Year Award is coming up on April 22, 2024."


“This year marks the 15th Annual Award, celebrating the remarkable talent of Canada's young broadcasters, many of whom have soared to great heights since receiving this accolade...As part of Canadian Music Week, the broadcasting industry is encouraged to seize this opportunity to shine a spotlight on the rising stars.”

The winning recipient will be recognized at the Radiodays North America Opening Reception on June 3 during Canadian Music Week and receive a fully covered trip to the event. Additionally, they will earn reputational encouragement via recognition on CMW-branded social media platforms and in a press release.

Anyone working in the industry can nominate any worthy broadcaster so long as they meet the following criteria:

• Candidates must be under 30 years of age as of Dec 31st, 2023
• Must work in the programming department: On-Air, Programming, Promotion, Production or Creative
• Must be nominated by another individual working in the radio industry
• Must be a Canadian Citizen or Landed Immigrant
• Must have made a significant, documented contribution to the community they serve, the radio industry or their craft.


Submissions are open with the deadline for entries by the end of Monday, April 22nd. Organizers warn that entries arriving after the deadline will not be eligible.

Winners will be notified no later than Friday, May 10th.

Past nominees, including last year’s runners-up, can be re-nominated if they still meet the criteria. Click here to access the submission form that must be completed for the nomination.

Support materials for submissions (MP3 airchecks, media/digital media coverage, documentation of community involvement, awards, ratings, proof of age etc.) should be attached. Questions, send correspondence to

Previous Allan Waters Young Broadcaster of the Year Award winners include Shannon Burns, Lauren Hunter, Brad Karp, Ruby Carr, Jenny West, Fearless Fred, Tyler Middleton, Jesse Modz, Amanda Logan, Rena Jae, and Adam Wylde.

To find out more about lionized radio programmer Steve Young, visit his tribute page on Facebook.

Liam Gallagher and Noal Gallagher at the opening night of Steve Coogan's comedy show in the West End, London.
Dave Hogan/Getty Images

Liam Gallagher and Noal Gallagher at the opening night of Steve Coogan's comedy show in the West End, London.


Oasis Announce ‘Definitely Maybe’ 30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition

The Britpop-era rock heavyweights will release special, expanded editions of "Definitely Maybe" on Aug. 31.

No, they’re not reuniting, and a tour is off the cards, but Oasis will celebrate the 30th anniversary of their debut album with a deluxe edition.

The Britpop-era Manchester rock heavyweights will release the special, expanded editions of Definitely Maybe on Aug. 31, featuring “unheard” versions from Monnow Valley Studio, near Rockfield, versions and outtakes from Sawmills Studios in Cornwall, where the LP was re-recorded.

keep readingShow less