Tenille Townes Tops Winners List At CCMA Awards

The Albertan singer/songwriter (pictured) was the big winner in Calgary on the weekend, taking home five trophies.

Tenille Townes Tops Winners List At CCMA Awards

By FYI Staff

The 2022 Canadian Country Music Association Awards were held over the weekend in Calgary, and Albertan singer/songwriter Tenille Townes emerged triumphant, taking home five trophies. Townes, who also shared co-hosting duties with Atlanta artist Blanco Brown, went into the weekend with a leading seven nominations, and won in the categories of songwriter of the year, female artist, single of the year for Girl Who Didn’t Care, entertainer of the year, and album of the year for Masquerades.

In her acceptance speech, she paid homage to some of the female artists who preceded her. “It’s 40 years of the CCMAs and I would not be standing here if it weren’t for the heroes who held on to this, that came before and paved a path...Patricia Conroy, Terri Clark, Carolyn Dawn Johnson, and here’s to the ones coming next, too,” she said. “Thank you guys for listening to my music and making this Grande Prairie girl’s dream come true.”


Dallas Smith was another multiple CCMA Award winner, in the Fans' Choice and Male Artist of the Year categories.

The main televised CCMA Awards Show was held on Sunday, Sept. 11, with awards in 29 categories handed out the evening before at the CCMA Music Industry Gala Dinner & Awards. Also honoured at the dinner were Unison, the recipient of the Gary Slaight Music Humanitarian Award, and Ollie Strong, receipient of the Hank Smith Award of Excellence. Rounding out that evening rounded out with special moments surrounding the 2022 Hall of Fame inductions of George Fox and Randall Prescott.

Here is a full list of winners in all categories.


Entertainer of the Year
Tenille Townes

Ford F-150 Album of the Year
Masquerades - Tenille Townes

Amazon Music and Alexa Fans' Choice 
Dallas Smith

Spotify Female Artist of the Year 
Tenille Townes


Group or Duo of the Year 
The Reklaws

Interactive Artist or Group of the Year  presented by ACTRA RACS
Hailey Benedict

Male Artist of the Year 
Dallas Smith

Rising Star 
Andrew Hyatt

Alternative Country Album of the Year 
Songs My Friends Wrote - Corb Lund

Single of the Year 
Girl Who Didn't Care - Tenille Townes

Songwriter(s) of the Year presented by SOCAN
Steph Jones, David Pramik, Tenille Townes

Song: Girl Who Didn’t Care (Performed By: Tenille Townes)

Top Selling Album of the Year
Dangerous: The Double Album – Morgan Wallen

Top Selling Canadian Album of the Year presented by Music Canada
Honkytonk Revival – Jade Eagleson

Top Selling Canadian Single of the Year
What The Truck – The Reklaws & Sacha

Video of the Year 
High School - Nice Horse

Bass Player of the Year 
Brandi Sidoryk

Drummer of the Year 
Matthew Atkins

Fiddle Player of the Year 
Denis Dufresne

Guitar Player of the Year  presented by PRS Guitars
Matt McKay

Keyboard Player of the Year 
Brendan Waters

Specialty Instrument Player of the Year
Mitch Jay

Steel Guitar Player of the Year 
Mitch Jay

Country Personality(ies) of the Year (Award #23)
Paul Ferguson - CHCQ-FM


Radio Station of the Year (Large Market)

CFCW – Edmonton, AB

Radio Station of the Year (Medium or Small Market) 

CHCQ-FM – Belleville, ON

Booking Agency of the Year
Sakamoto Agency

Country Music Program or Special of the Year 
Pure Country Top 50 Of 2021 Hosted By Shannon Ella With Special Guests Dustin Lynch
& MacKenzie Porter - Bell Media

Management Company of the Year 
Starseed Entertainment

Music Publishing Company of the Year presented by CMRRA
Anthem Entertainment

Record Company of the Year 
Warner Music Canada

Industry Person of the Year
Brianne Deslippe - VP International, Big Loud Records


Creative Director(s) of the Year 
Design Team: Austin Chaffe
Brand Identity (Artist: Dean Brody), Album: Honkytonk Revival (Artist: Jade Eagleson), Single:
More Drinkin' Than Fishin' (Artist: Jade Eagleson, Dean Brody) Brand Identity (Artist: Nate
Haller), Single: What The Truck (Artist: The Reklaws & Sacha), Ad Material: Winter's A Beach
(Artist: The Reklaws)

Recording Studio of the Year
MCC Recording Studio - Calgary, AB

Record Producer(s) of the Year 
Joey Moi
Single: Hide From A Broken Heart (Artist: Dallas Smith)

Retailer of the Year 

Apple Music

Ron Sakamoto Talent Buyer or Promoter of the Year

Paul Biro - Sakamoto Agency

Video Director of the Year

Ben Knechtel Video: More Drinkin' Than Fishin' (Artist: Jade Eagleson & Dean Brody), Video: Pretty Please (Artist: SACHA), Video: She Don't Know (Artist: Jade Eagleson), Video: Somewhere To Drink (Artist: Nate Haller, The Reklaws, Brett Kissel), Video: Trust Issues (Artist: Robyn Ottolini)

Sources: CP, Country Standard Time, CCMA

Billboard Japan


Music News

Japan’s MILLENNIUM PARADE Coming to Toronto on 2024 Global Tour: See the Schedule

The band, led by Daiki Tsuneta of King Gnu, will kick off the trek on Nov. 2 in Mexico City.

MILLENNIUM PARADE is set to launch its first-ever global tour called the WHO AND HOW TOUR 2024 in November, traveling to nine cities around the world for 10 shows.

The band, led by Daiki Tsuneta of King Gnu, will kick off the trek in Mexico City, then hit Los Angeles, New York, Toronto, Berlin, Paris, London, Utrecht, and Tokyo. The Tokyo shows will take place at Tokyo Garden Theater on Dec. 19 and 20. The tour will mark the first time in three years that the band performs live.

keep readingShow less