The LYNNeS, Pharis Romero Win Multiple CFMAs

The 14th annual edition of the Canadian Folk Music Awards were held over the weekend in Calgary. The duo of Lynne Hanson and Lynn Miles (pictured) was amongst the victors.

The LYNNeS, Pharis Romero Win Multiple CFMAs

By FYI Staff

The 14th annual 2018 Canadian Folk Music Awards (CFMAs) were awarded over two nights (Nov. 30 and Dec. 1) at The Gateway (SAIT) in Calgary. The spoils were evenly distributed, with only The LYNNeS and Pharis Romero winning multiple trophies.

The Friday night event, hosted by James Keelaghan and Benoit Bourque, featured performances by Andrea Bettger, Danny Boudreau, Ben Heffernan, The LYNNeS, West of Mabou, and Dana Wylie. Ten awards were handed out throughout the evening, including the Slaight Music Unsung Hero Award, presented to Terry Wickham, longtime Artistic Director of the Edmonton Folk Music Festival.

Saturday evening's event, again hosted by Keelaghan and Bourque, featured performances from Matthew Byrne, Jack Pine & The Fire, Little Miss Higgins, Quantum Tangle, Annie Sumi and The Lifers, and Winona Wilde. Another ten awards were handed out.


Here is a full list of winners:

Traditional Album of the Year: Matthew Byrne - Horizon Lines

Contemporary Album of the Year: Donovan Woods - Both Ways

Children’s Album of the Year: Edgar, LeBlanc, Cool, Farmeur, Vishtèn, Savoie, Butler - Grand tintamarre ! - Chansons et comptines acadiennes

Traditional Singer of the Year: Pharis Romero (of Pharis & Jason Romero) - Sweet Old Religion

Contemporary Singer of the Year: Rob Lutes - Walk in the Dark

Instrumental Solo Artist of the Year: Jean-François Bélanger - Les entrailles de la montagne

Instrumental Group of the Year: The Fretless - Live from the Art Farm

English Songwriter of the Year: Lynne Hanson, Lynn Miles (of The LYNNeS) - Heartbreak Song For The Radio

French Songwriter of the Year: Christian Bernard, Anik Bérubé, Natalie Byrns, and Frédéric Joyal - Le soleil en bulle

Indigenous Songwriter of the Year: Shauit - Apu peikussiakᵘ

Vocal Group of the Year: Pharis & Jason Romero - Sweet Old Religion

Ensemble of the Year: The LYNNeS - Heartbreak Song For The Radio


Solo Artist of the Year: Bruce Cockburn - Bone On Bone

World Solo Artist of the Year: Eliana Cuevas - Golpes Y Flores

World Group of the Year: Autorickshaw - Meter

New/Emerging Artist of the Year:  Raine Hamilton - Night SkyAerialists - Group Manoeuvre

Producer of the Year: Steve Dawson - Same As I Ever Have Been (Matt Patershuk)

Pushing the Boundaries: Beatrice Deer - My All To You

Young Performer of the Year: Nick Earle, Joseph Coffin (of Earle and Coffin) - A Day in July

Slaight Music Unsung Hero Award: Terry Wickham.

Shaq’s Classic Song ‘You Can’t Stop the Reign’ Featuring Biggie Is Finally on Streaming Services
Rb Hip Hop

Shaq’s Classic Song ‘You Can’t Stop the Reign’ Featuring Biggie Is Finally on Streaming Services

There's a more explicit Biggie verse in the vault, according to the NBA legend.

Shaq’s classic with Biggie is finally available on streaming services. The news was broken by FakeShoreDrive on X earlier this week, and the Hall of Fame big man confirmed the news Thursday afternoon (June 13).

The year is 1996 and Shaquille O’Neal and the Notorious B.I.G. are two of the biggest figures in their respective fields. Shaq was entering the last year of his deal with the Orlando Magic before he headed west to the Los Angeles Lakers at the end of the 1995-1996 season. Biggie was getting ready to release his sophomore album, Life After Death, while in the throws of a beef with 2Pac. Big name-dropped the NBA player on the song “Gimme the Loot” off his debut album, Ready to Die, and the two had a mutual respect for each other ever since.

keep readingShow less