Prism Prize Video Spotlight: 5 Videos by Former Nominees

The highly anticipated 2023 Prism Prize Screening & Awards Presentation is almost here, and we can’t wait to celebra

Prism Prize Video Spotlight: 5 Videos by Former Nominees

By External Source

The highly anticipated 2023 Prism Prize Screening & Awards Presentation is almost here, and we can’t wait to celebrate the best in Canadian music videos. As a tribute to this year’s esteemed awards presentation, we want to showcase five entertaining music videos by past Prism Prize nominees. 

Drake- Jumbotron Shit Poppin' 

Drake’s video for Jumbotron Shit Poppin' gives the audience a look at the luxury lifestyle that he lives. Drenched in high-end cars, gold and parties, this video has a day-in-the-life feel. The video has many quick changes between scenes and various angles, switching between a vintage VHS feel and a modern lens. It’s the kind of video that will make you want to pack up and move to L.A. to enjoy all those beautiful sunsets and popping rooftop parties. 



Director: Tristan C-M 

Producers: Tristan C-M, Theo Skudra, Sebastian Contreras, Anthony Gonzales 

Production Company: Colossale 

Executive Producer: Christian Tyler 

Cinematographer: Tristan C-M 

Camera Assistant: Enzo Armella 

Editor: Tristan C-M 

Colour Facility: Alter Ego 

Senior Colourist: Wade Odlum 

Colour Assistant: Vika Svishchova 

Producer: Spencer Butt 

Titles: Dani Aphrodite

The Beaches - Blame Brett 

Blame Brett is the epitome of a ‘single girl summer’ song accompanied by a fun video to complement the catchy tune. It starts with shots of the band set up on a white sound stage as they perform the song. As the video continues, we follow The Beaches on their girls' night out as they party in luxe outfits and take cute selfies. 


Production Company: Underscore Studios

Director: Ievy Stamatov

Executive Producer/Producer: Sarah Ruest

Executive Producer: Danny Simpson

COO: Erika Lindberg

Dir. Of Photography: Dennis Grishnin

1st AC: Eric Schweiger

Key Grip: Gianluca Basile

Gaffer: Andy Youn

B Cam Op: Sarah Ruest

Art Director: Michael Petruzzelli

Stylist: Shae Holt

HMUA: Liv Tsai

BTS Photographer: Meg Moon


Art PA: Ryan Leslie

Key PA: Mehgan Fahmy

Editing House: Nimiopere

Executive Producer: Paula Hicks

Editor: Leah Lalich

Assistant Editor: Hannah Stone

Colouring House: Darling

Producer: Will Culverwell

Colourist: Kassi Bellamy

Colouring Assistant: Jesse Hilton

Titles: Jacob Barnett

Featuring: Cali Cat

Special Thanks: Kris Kell & Brockton Haunt

Andy Shauf - Telephone

Andy Shauf’s video for his song Telephone is a colourfully animated piece of work. Full of life, bright colours and detail, this video echoes that of a storybook. With the gentle pace of Andy’s track playing over, this video is both relaxing and a fever dream simultaneously. 


Written & recorded by Andy Shauf 

Mixed by NealHPogue for 411 E. 9th Ave. 

Mastered by Mike Bozzi at Bernie Grundman Mastering

Animated by Chad VanGaalen

Feist - In Lightning 

The music video for Feist’s song In Lightning is euphoric and haunting all at the same time. The underwater shots and hazy camera filters add a dream-like quality to the video and the song. Set on a beach at night, we see Feist swimming and dancing with joy as bursts of light hit the beach, synchronized with the track's instruments. 


Co-directed by: Julia Hendrickson, Sara Melvin & Leslie Feist 


Producer: Sara Melvin 

DOP & Editor: Julia Hendrickson 

Pre-light Gaffer: Adrian Antonecchia 

Colour: Drake Conrad 

Graphics: Brutus NYC 

Special Thanks: David Young

 Debby Friday - So Hard To Tell 

Follow Debby Friday on a self-reflection journey in her video for So Hard To Tell. This video follows Debby as she contemplates in a brightly lit bedroom, goes on a night walk and wanders in a forest. The video emanates strong feminine energy, made stronger by the chainlink and sword which Debby winds up wearing. 


Directed by: Kevan Funk and Debby Friday 

Cinematographer: Liam Mitchell

Production Designer: Robin Tilby 


Costume Designer: Cassandra Shier

1st AC: Jared Boyce, Soloman Chiniquay

2nd AC: Chris Merrell, Lauren Yim, John Flemming

Gaffer: Greg Goudreau, Caleb Ford, Matthew Koropatwa

Lamp Operator: Jordan Hughes

Hair And Makeup: Teia Dumaresq

Nail Art: Jenny P.

Floral Armour Art: Colette Stubbings

Colourist: Clinton Homuth

Production Photography: Soloman Chiniquay

Management: SemaphoreMGMT

Jade Eagleson
Ryan Nolan

Jade Eagleson


Canadian Country Music Association Awards 2024 Nominations: Jade Eagleson, Mackenzie Porter Lead The Pack

The two platinum-selling singer/songwriters have scored six nominations each for the CCMA Awards, with The Reklaws and Josh Ross hot on their heels. The biggest night in Canadian country takes place on Sept. 14 at Rogers Place in Edmonton.

Today (July 18), the Canadian Country Music Association (CCMA) announced the official nominees for the 2024 CCMA Awards. Topping the list of contenders with six nods apiece are Jade Eagleson and MacKenzie Porter, the latter of whom will co-host the awards show alongside American country star Thomas Rhett.

Hot on their heels with five nominations apiece are The Reklaws and Josh Ross, while High Valley, Owen Riegling and Dallas Smith are each cited in four categories. Other notable Canadian artists making the list include Dean Brody, Steven Lee Olsen, James Barker Band, Brett Kissel, Tenille Townes and Lindsay Ell.

keep readingShow less