Music Nova Scotia Awards Spread the Glory Around

Held in Truro last night as the climax of Nova Scotia Music Week, three multiple winners emerged, including Mo Kenney (pictured). The 48 categories honour both the province's musicians and industry notables.

Music Nova Scotia Awards Spread the Glory Around

By FYI Staff

At the Music Nova Scotia Awards Celebration at the Holiday Inn in Truro last night (Sunday), Awards in 48 categories were handed out. Three artists, Mo Kenney, David Myles, and Maxim Cormier, took home two trophies apiece.

Kenney won in the Solo Recording of the Year and Rock Recording of the Year categories, both for her album The Details. Myles won Recording of the Year and Americana Recording of the Year for Real Love, and Maxim Cormier won Acadian/Francophone Artist of the Year and Traditional/Roots Recording of the Year, for Maxim and Gervais Cormier: Cape Breton Guitar.


Here is the full list of winners of 2018 Music Nova Scotia Awards:


Flagship Construction Entertainer of the Year: Makayla Lynn

Solo Recording of the Year (presented by Murphy’s Fish & Chips): Mo Kenney - The Details

Group Recording of the Year (presented by Subway): Hillsburn - The Wilder Beyond

Music Video of the Year (presented by Vintage Mouldings): Jessie Brown - “Undertow” Director: Gavin MacLean

New Artist Recording of the Year (presented by O’Healthy Market): No, It’s fine - No, It’s fine

Recording of the Year (presented by Mirror Image Media): David Myles - Real Love

SOCAN Songwriter of the Year (presented by SOCAN): Gabrielle Papillon - “When The Heart Attacks” (Songwriter: Gabrielle Papillon)

Acadian/Francophone Artist of the Year: Maxim Cormier

African Nova Scotian Artist of the Year (presented by the Town of Truro Diversity Advisory Committee): Reeny Smith

Alternative Recording of the Year: POSTDATA - Let’s Be Wilderness

Americana Bluegrass Recording of the Year: David Myles - Real Love

Blues Recording of the Year (presented by Belly Up BBQ & Grill): Dan Doiron - Livin’ Centre Stage

Children’s Artist of the Year (presented by McDonald’s): Razzmatazz for Kids

Classical Recording of the Year: Jeff Reilly - To Dream of Silence

Country Recording of the Year (presented by Best Western Glengarry Plus Hotel): Ryan Cook - Having A Great Time

Digital Artist of the Year: The Town Heroes

DJ of the Year: DJ IV

Electronic Artist of the Year (presented by Ticketpro): PINEO & LOEB

Folk Recording of the Year (presented by The Old Triangle): Ben Caplan - Old Stock

Hip Hop Recording of the Year (presented by Cobequid Dance Academy): Quake Matthews - Celebrate The Struggle

Indigenous Artist of the Year (presented by Inglis Jewelers): Alan Syliboy and the Thundermakers

Jazz Recording of the Year: Jerry Granelli - Dance Hall

Loud Recording of the Year: Kilmore - Call of the Void

Musician of the Year (presented by Koltech Windows & Entrance Systems): Leith Fleming-Smith

Pop Recording of the Year (presented by Open Hearth Park): Christina Martin - Impossible to Hold

Rock Recording of the Year (presented by Aggregate Equipment): Mo Kenney - The Details

Traditional/Roots Recording of the Year (presented by Warner Music Canada): Maxim Cormier - Maxim and Gervais Cormier: Cape Breton Guitar


Booking Agent of the Year (presented by CBDC NOBL): Jason MacIsaac

Community Presenter of the Year (presented by MacQuarries Pharmasave): Lunenburg Folk Harbour Society

Company of the Year (presented by Truro Mall): The Syrup Factory

Corporate Sponsor of the Year (presented by Hampton Inn & Suites): Casino Nova Scotia

Educator of the Year (presented by Dalhousie Agricultural College): Craig Mercer

Event of the Year (presented by Events Truro Colchester): Halifax Jazz Festival

Industry Professional of the Year (presented by The Tweed Suit - Traditional Barbering): Dana Beeler

Live Technician of the Year:  Trevor DeSouza

Manager of the Year: Melanie Stone

Media Professional of the Year: Stephen Cooke

Producer of the Year: Daniel Ledwell

Production Company of the Year: groundSOUND

Promoter of the Year: Mike Campbell

Publicist of the Year: Trevor Murphy

Radio Program of the Year (presented by Culinary Creations by Ellen): East Coast Music Hour (CBC)

Radio Station of the Year (presented by Theriault Financial): CKDU-FM, 88.1 FM, CKDU

Recording Studio of the Year: New Scotland Yard

Studio Engineer of the Year: Thomas Stajcer

Venue of the Year (presented by Ticketpro): The Carleton

Visual Artist of the Year: kt Lamond

Volunteer of the Year (presented by Subway): Christine Latter-Stratton and Eirinn Fraser


DIVINE (L) and Karan Aujla
@anmollium / Anmol Raina

DIVINE (L) and Karan Aujla

Chart Beat

Karan Aujla & DIVINE Debut in Top 25 on Billboard Canadian Albums Chart

B.C.-based Punjabi artist Karan Aujla and Indian rapper DIVINE land the No. 22 spot on this week's Canadian Albums chart with their new collaborative release, 'Street Dreams.' On the Canadian Hot 100, Beyoncé's "Texas Hold 'Em" ascends to No. 1, while Canadian pop artist Preston Pablo makes a debut.

B.C.-based Punjabi artist Karan Aujla and Indian rapper DIVINE are making moves together on Billboard's Canadian Albums chart this week, with their collaborative project, Street Dreams, debuting in the No. 22 spot.

The seven-track album, released Feb. 16, blends harder hip-hop and smooth R&B pop, the latter shining through especially on the Jonita Gandhi-assisted "Yaad." It's not Aujla's highest spot on the Albums chart — he reached No. 5 in 2023 with Making Memories, his collaboration with Canadian Punjabi artist Ikky — but it gives him some momentum going into his upcoming performance at the Juno Awards on Mar. 24, where he's nominated for TikTok Juno fan choice and breakthrough artist.

keep readingShow less